Youssou N’Dour: “Wilders? I don’t know him!”

3 11 2010

Via Radio Netherlands Worldwide:

“Our religion is sometimes distorted by people here.” Last week in the Netherlands, Youssou N’Dour, the Senegalese superstar, defends his religion.

”When I was very young, we talked about Europe as an El Dorado. It was something magical, a continent of success. I remember that I always spoke of Amsterdam. I wanted to go someday to Amsterdam. Without really knowing the country well.”

“The Netherlands is related to my music. The first time the English musician Peter Gabriel heard my voice, it was on the Dutch radio. Oh! What is that voice?, he said.”

”And I love football. I like the players here a lot. And I have friends in the Netherlands. It is not possible for me to do a European tour without coming to Holland.”
 
Ridiculous
The Dutch politician Geert Wilders? No, I don’t know him. But I do know a bit of the general situation in the Netherlands. That there are more and more people who have extreme right ideologies.”

Read the rest.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

