Interesting parallels in Germany – part eighteen

30 07 2010

It’s been a while since Defend Geert Wilders has published another piece in its Parallels in Germany series ( for background, click here ). In this instalment, I’d like to present you with a response from British MP Kenneth Clarke to a fair deal of correspondence from my ‘informant’ – a man caught up in the German legal system. Here’s the response from Kenneth Clarke’s office:

Dear *****,

I think we may already have spoken about this but could you please confirm your postal address. There is a strict Parliamentary convention that prevents Members of Parliament taking up matters on behalf of their fellow MPs and I fear that, unless you live in Mr. Clarke’s constituency, he will not be able to help and will only be able to redirect your e-mails on to your own MP. I will of course show him your correspondence just to check, but before I do so, I would be grateful if you would let me know your address.

Regards,

Debbie Sugg
PA to Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke QC MP
Tel: 020 7219 5189
Fax: 020 7219 4841
e-mail suggd@parliament.uk

So…quite a lukewarm response. I won’t copy out all of the correspondence sent by my ‘informant’. If you read through previous instalments in this series you’ll see clearly enough the problems that are plaguing him. But, as he points out in an email:

I have found a reply from Ken Clarkes Office. As you can read he is unable to help because he is not my constituency MP. As you know Sir Peter Tapsell admitted to being powerless because he was ONLY A LITTLE MP.

Clarke had made himself a BIG MP by taking on the role that I wrote to him on namely DEMOCRACY.

This is their tactic to escape doing anything, when the citizens constitutency MP has betrayed them.

What a sad state of affairs.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

